Skip to content
ascd logo

July 1, 2021

ASCD Adds National Education Leaders to 2021–2022 Board of Directors

ASCD welcomed four new members with significant experience in education to its talented Board of Directors.
ASCD Press Release text and association logo on pink background.
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 1, 2021 Ken Pratt, 1-407-247-4958 ALEXANDRIA, VA—ASCD Adds National Education Leaders to 2021-2022 Board of Directors On July 1, ASCD welcomed four new members with significant experience in education to its talented Board of Directors who will lead the organization in its efforts to support educators in transforming teaching and learning while fostering dynamic personal and professional learning communities with peers across the globe. The organization's 2021-2022 Board of Directors will also include nine returning members. "After an unprecedented year of virtual classrooms, hybrid schedules, rapid shifts between learning models, and countless web-based instructional resources, it is more important than ever that educators have easy access to the high-quality, relevant, carefully curated professional learning opportunities that ASCD provides," said Board President Neil Gupta. Gupta said: "With a strong, committed Board of Directors and an exceptional leadership team, ASCD is well-positioned to continue serving as a national leader ensuring that educators feel supported, engaged and encouraged to grow in new ways." Members of ASCD's Board of Directors have extensive experience in elementary, secondary, and higher education and represent ten states, two countries, six local education agencies, and five education-focused non-profit organizations. The Board includes a rich background of education leadership including superintendents, nonprofit executives, school founders, and thought leaders in education technology, equity in education, school transformation and innovation, and education policy leaders. "These areas of expertise are critical in guiding ASCD to increase both its impact and educator reach," said ASCD CEO and Executive Director Ranjit Sidhu. ASCD's Board is made up of appointed members and individuals elected from the organization's membership. Newly appointed members include President of the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education Aaron Thompson and President of the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation Chris Koch. Sidhu said: "Both Aaron and Chris bring extensive experience guiding state policy to improve educator and student outcomes and keenly understand educator needs during their teacher preparation and early phases of their careers." Newly elected members of the Board are Baldwin County School District Superintendent Noris Price and Jacksonville North Pulaski School District Superintendent Jeremy Owoh. Price and Owoh are respected leaders within the ASCD membership and have a deep understanding of nurturing educator learning and growth at the district and school level. The ASCD Board of Directors for 2021-2022 includes the following members: Board President Neil GuptaDirector of Secondary Education, Worthington Schools (Columbus, OH)
Board Vice President Avis WilliamsSuperintendent of Selma City Schools (Selma, Alabama)
Karen BaptisteFounder & Director, Pre-School to Prison, LLC / Consultant Director, Learning Services (Denver, CO)
Patrice Dawkins-JacksonDirector, Post-Baccalaureate Fellowship and Associate, Networked Improvement Science, Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching (Stanford, CA)
Bart EpsteinCEO, EdTech Evidence Exchange / Research Associate Professor, University of Virginia School of Education & Human Development (Arlington, VA)
Sandy HuskChief Executive Officer, AVID (San Diego, CA)
Christopher KochPresident, Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (Washington, DC)
Phyllis LockettChief Executive Officer, LEAP Innovations (Chicago, IL)
Matthew Mingle , Superintendent, Warren Township Schools (Warren, NJ)
Jeremy S. Owoh , Superintendent of Schools, Jacksonville North Pulaski School District (Jacksonville, AR)
Noris PriceSuperintendent, Baldwin County School District (Milledgeville, GA)
Aaron Thompson, President, Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education (Frankfort, KY)
Charles Badu Yeboah , Founder and Managing Director, International Community Schools (Kumasi, Ashanti Region, Ghana)
Sidhu said: "We are fortunate to have a governance team where every single member has notable experience in the profession it serves. The leadership of this extraordinary group of educators and advocates will be invaluable as ASCD works to continue to expand and enhance our impact on educators."

About ASCD

ASCD is a passionate community of life-changing educators. Our community is empowered to be equity and instructional warriors who transform vision into practice. For 75 years, we have worked side by side with educators from every level in all 50 states and more than 200 countries to help them find their people and amplify their voice to reach many. Our professional learning services let educators chart their own learning journey, as educators, as leaders, so they and their students can flourish. Learn more at

These links in this publication are time-sensitive. These links may move or expire as the news changes. If you notice a deactivated or changed link, please email us. Some sources may require registration.

ASCD is dedicated to professional growth and well-being.

Let's put your vision into action.
Discover our Professional Learning Services